5 Stages of Grief and Tasks of Mourning

Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Acceptance.

We know that while these feelings are experienced by many people during grief, not everyone experiences all of them, nor are they necessarily experienced in any particular order.

Today, many feel that William Worden’s “Tasks of Mourning” is a more helpful description of the process that grieving people go through in order integrate the loss into their lives. The tasks of mourning are:

Task 1: To accept the reality of the loss

Task 2: To process the pain of grief

Task 3: To adjust to a world without the deceased

Task 4: To find an enduring connection with the deceased in the midst of embarking on a new life.

Whenever we experience change, we go through a process of integrating that change into our lives. While this is most dramatic when someone we love dies, it is important to be mindful of the feelings and challenges that come with change.

GriefLink.net has articles and information to help you or someone you care about gain insight, find help (from a therapist or support group), support and resources.